The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Is Anybody There?

This image fits my day quite perfectly. Endless hours on the phone with a crew of belligerent bankers where I was not quite sure if they had one iota of interest in what I had to say. The day seemed quite pointless but I reminded myself that this "stuff" at work is just that, stuff. At the end of the day what matters most is family, friends, and to have a bit of fun. The rest are just inconvenient details.

I snapped this while walking to a meeting and played with it a bit on the new iPhoto iPad app. I was not even aware that pay phones were around anymore. In a sign of the times, I showed this image to my eight year old and she said "what is that?". A pay phone I replied. The she dead panned...."what is a pay phone?, everyone has cells except me". I remember digging deep into my jeans as a kid to call home to say that I will be late. If I could not find a dime I was in deep trouble. Those days are gone.

The weekend is near and hopefully I can catch up on journals then. The weather here has been amazing and I feel badly for those that have suffered through such rain in the UK and Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.