Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Magnificent Meadows Morning

It was nice to see blue skies this morning after several dreich days.

So there was nothing for it, but to arise and go and get that blossom blip I've almost left it too late for. There was a big wind one night this week howling down the bedroom chimney, and I thought 'Oh no, that's the blossom all gone!' But it's still hanging in there, even though there's lots on the ground.

There must be hundreds, nay, thousands of folk who walk through the Meadows to work every day. And students. And dogs. On a morning like this, through the blossom, it's one of life's wee pleasures. Well, one of Edinburgh's wee pleasures anyway. So it's even more pleasurable to be there just to take photos and not go to work. I spent ages taking photos. Might go back down this evening for the shadows going the other way.

Back home by 8 o'clock (am!) to do some dusting etc for my visitor. S came along, admired the new painting, but especially admired my new iPad (in its attractive green cover). She's almost convinced herself to get one. I think I helped quite a bit!

We had a wander through the Meadows and spent ages taking more photos. Into Peter's Yard for a cuppa and million calorie cake. S has just started blipping, so she had fun trying to take photos of cyclists whizzing by in front of a nice background. I wonder which blip she's going to choose today...

We spotted two girls taking photos. Well, one was posing and the other had a Big Camera. We asked if they were blippers, and the photographer said that her brother blipped. I said they should too, as the photo they'd just taken would be brilliant. I'll look out for it today!

The one I chose today, of many dozens, is this one. I quite liked the wee teensy accidental sunburst effect, though I don't have one of those fancy filters. And I wondered where the dog was going. Maybe the Wally Dug?*

CBLinks noted that I had TWO teddies, then THREE dogs, and I've unintentionally got FOUR people in the photo. I'm NOT on a theme, though!!



* This is a well-known Edinburgh pub. Not open at 8am, so I don't really think that's where it's going.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.