Abercorn Church

Mrs RT was going to a meeting in North Queensferry; I took the day off, took her to NQ and went for a bike ride from there - over the Forth Road Bridge; then west along the side of the river; past the very impressive Hopetoun House; round it on some rather muddy bits; on along the river to Blackness with its beautifully situated castle on a promontory sticking out into the river mud (low tide when I was there), with views of the Ochils behind; inland on back roads to Linlithgow where I gave my legs a rest (couple of weeks without a ride).
Walked round Linlithgow Loch - lots of wildlife including great crested and little grebes, and a garden warbler (I think) singing beautifully. And some lunch.
Then through Linlithgow (keeping up with the traffic but one idiot tried to kill me) and out to the Union Canal for 8 miles along the towpath - level but a bit rough and puddly; back roads from Winchburgh to Queensferry and back over the bridge.
All exploring a part of the country I didn't really know at all.
Anyway after all that - what's this? On the track near Hopetoun House, passed a sign to Abercorn Church so I went to investigate. It's a little Norman gem - this is one corner. The rest is plainer but still lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.