stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Cockenzie

The coal-fired Cockenzie Power Station dominates the skyline looking across from Portobello beach. The twin chimney station was built in 1967. It is due to be closed by the end of 2015 when Scottish Power are expected to replace it with a modern Combine Cycle Gas Turbine station.

I was determined not to let being on call ruin my weekend completely again, so I was up at 6.30 this morning and headed down to the beach. It was a lovely blue skied morning with a nice bracing feel with it but other than that definitely the wrong time to go. The tide was in and still coming and the sun was still climbing from the sea. All wrong to photograph the gulls which I had intended doing (hahaha, is that a hurrah I hear in the back there). So a wee wander along the promenade and a couple of mono treatments of the station.

The wider angle antiqued treatment won out over this zoomed alternative view.

Sorry for my absence, but I've tried keeping up with all your journals while I've been away. Hope everyone has a great weekend.

Now here's a question for all you map users. For landscapes, would you map the subject or where the shot was taken? I chose the latter today.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.