stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Let There Be Light

And God said, Let there be light: and there was light.
Genesis 1:3


You can see the complete series here.

In the old days all you had to do was say the word... apparently! Now there's switches and meters and bills. Blah! I have no idea when things got so complicated but I'm sure it had something to do with big business taking over electricity production. Of course, this tenuous link between the leccy pylon that is my blip for the day and slight (but hopefully short of sacrilegious) poke at religion is all a good excuse to link to this. I love Python and this was them at their irreverent best. Being an on call week, I also need all the smiles I can muster and a timely reminder not to take things so damned seriously.

I've had an idea for posting this for a while but just never really got round to investigating the side road of Sir Harry Lauder Road (see the new fangled mappy thing) until today. I think I might be going back there of a weekend. All sorts of interesting things around there.

Friday was pay day and since I was on call this week, my 30 min availability means I have a range of not very far to travel. Just inside that by car is Fort Kinnaird, so I decided today would be shopping day! In addition to the weekly food shop it was time to spend the annual clothing allowance!

You have to understand, I'm not exactly what one would call a fashion leader. In fact, one might go so far as to say I was a bit of a fashion Neanderthal. For me, clothes serve the purpose of preserving modesty. No more, no less. Now, there was a time when these funds would stretch to one full outfit at least, but in these times of extortion spending the budget has to be planned. Last year was the turn of tops and jeans. This year, a coat and shoes were on the agenda.

What I'm about to say may seem a little... strange to some of you good people, but why people pay lots of money for shaped pieces of leather to tie around their lower extremities to prevent them from getting cold and wet (hahaha, and I've seen plenty that don't even afford that) I'll never know. Since the demise of my beloved Barratts where I could guarantee a spend of no more than £25 for the same shoe design I'd bought for years, I've had to look further afield. I baulk at the prices of some of these places and I don't usually step inside Clarks for that reason, but they said there was a sale on. To my surprise and delight, they meant it and while I still had to pay over the odds, the £35 price tag was just within the acceptable range (hahahaha, I never would have looked twice at the original £60).

No such luck with the coat. £69 pounds for that, but I found that a few deep breaths into the brown paper bag I'd taken along with me for just that purpose got me through the sales transaction. Part of the reason I've had to go all out over the last year or so with the clothes is due to my weight loss. A good thing you might think, and while I can't argue with the logic on health grounds, dieting is awful expensive otherwise (heh, Weightwatchers never tell you that do they)! But it came as a bit of a surprise even to me to discover that I can now get into a Medium coat. Happy, yet surprised because according to the BMI scale I'm still clinically obese. Now this doesn't tally. S, M, L, XL, XXL is the clothes scale men work too and at second from bottom, I'm still obese. Hmmm... what's that all about?!! Anyhoo, not one to gripe (no tittering in the back there), do all average people have really long arms or am I more than just a short arse? It's getting a little better, but I can still extend my arms and my hands fit inside the sleeves. Not complaining because it's a really handy feature now and again but really, how long do sleeves need to be?

I also got an external hard drive (to serve as my image back up drive's back up - paranoid? Me? Never!), a blu ray and a dvd. But these were essential purchases! ;- )

Right, off for tea and to watch the aforementioned Blu Ray. Heard good things about Tin Tin. Back in a bit to catch up with everyone. Monday tomorrow again.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.