Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Honey In The Cemetery

We had gorgeous weather today and I made sure I spent time out of doors. This stop was at Woodlands Cemetery, where there is an apiary. I splurged and bought a share in the honey harvest last week, so when Fall arrives I should receive 1/25 of the whole take. I'm told that it should be between two and five pounds when the time comes.

The Woodlands mansion stands in the background with some grave monuments of old, elite Philadelphia families behind it.

While in the cemetery I walked with a close friend who happened to be there, and as always I stopped at Ida C. Craddock's grave, which has been the subject of at least three of my blips (Here is one). Ida was a Spiritualist, so if her beliefs turn out to be true, she might well be helping the bee keepers --or something of ordinary life, just as though the afterlife were not so very different from this one we're in.

Today the cemetery had the feel of a well-used park, which is the way it was when the estate became a burial ground in 1840.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.