Helter-skelter

By Juli

Watcha doin'?

The only downside to working at Wakehurst is choosing which photo to blip.

It was an absolutely glorious day there today, very hot but with a welcome breeze - just perfect. Spent the morning down at the Field Studies Centre, where as usual the local wildlife were being very nosey. This pair even went in the centre building! Unfortunately the mallard couldn't remember where the door was and kept bashing himself against the window to try and get out so I had to perform a bit of a rescue mission. And they say 'Curiosity killed the cat...'!

In the afternoon we did some pond dipping and the children really seemed to enjoy learning the names of all the little creatures they found. Having earlier joked with the Wakehurst teacher about my 'expert knowledge' of water fleas, at one point I found myself in front of the class, telling them all about them. I almost sounded like I knew what I was talking about! ;-)

Looks like it will be the same great weather on Wednesday when I'm there next so, after the past couple of weeks of getting drenched, how lucky am I this week?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.