May Day Eve

In the sleevenotes of their last album, Canadian anarchist funsters (ahem) Godspeed You! Black Emperor wrote the line 'stubborn tiny lights vs clustering darkness, forever ok?'

I can't think of anything to add other than ^^^this^^^.

Tomorrow is International Workers' Day. This year it will have particular resonance for millions in this country alone (where the Tories are considering switching the May bank holiday to October "to extend the tourist season").

I don't think I have ever had as much personal cause to consider what the day stands for. At work we are entering the final stages of a long, long restructure that is taking its toll on morale and emotional strength. The simple version is I don't know whether I will have a job at the end of it.

Meanwhile, last Friday my dad worked his last day in a job from which he has basically been laid off on account of physical incapacity brought on by a lifetime of graft.

He never stood up for himself, just got on with it. For decades. And through excruciating pain. And now he's been shafted. Food for thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.