... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Yeah, that won't fly...

Guess what I'm blipping today; I think I've developed a gosling habit...
I went back to the pond optimistically hoping to see gosling Number 9, but, alas, there are still only 8.

Anyway, moving on to more positive matters: the remaining 8 are on top form. It was a beautifully sunny morning, and I had an hour to kill, so I went to visit the Egyptian Goose family at the pond (I'm imaginative like that...).
When I arrived, the goslings were in a pile again, which was sublimely adorable.
I don't know if it is my imagination, but the parents seem even more actively on guard; they now always bracket the goslings between them...

Anyway, I think one of the cutest things about them is that despite their increased size, their wings are still absolutely tiny. They seem to be aware of them more and more (spreading them out when they run, cleaning under them, &c.), but they are just so ridiculously out of proportion.
I got a funny shot of them all stretching in a pile, with legs and little wings all sticking out at funny angles, but seeing as I blipped a pile of goslings yesterday, I thought I ought to pick a different type of picture. This photo is all about the wings: they take pride of place, and pride of focus.

An homage to gosling wings?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.