Southerly

Winter began today. Not officially, but that didn't stop it. I knew as soon as I left the warm, steamy bathroom this morning that another layer of underwear was required. Although the sky was blue and there was uninterrupted sunshine all day there was something in the air. There was no doubt that it came straight from Antarctica. Even at midday I had to wear hat, coat and gloves to walk around the garden.

It took me ages to hang out the washing. I kept getting distracted by the mountains. The early morning light cast deep, shifting shadows, and the southerly blew great plumes of cloud from the peaks. Yesterday's dusting of snow burnt off quickly, but this morning's will not go so easily.

Today I picked my first, and probably my last zucchini of the season.

One year ago: the same peak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.