The Picnic Parlour

Firstly thanks for all your fabulous comments on the last two days for what have been two very significant days for me. Got a spotlight for the marathon one which was a surprise as haven't been in spotlight for eons whereas last year it was all the time. I think I savour this spotlight one more as it's a rare one nowadays.

You have all been so kind with comments whilst I have been the rubishest commentor ever but hopefully you will have seen on my blips why, as my life has been more congested than the M25 on a day where the Govt announced Free Coach Trips for all For The World's Largest Sex And Beer Festival ( no I have no idea where that nonsense came from either).

It's all calm and good now and had a great day at work.

Had a wander through town centre at lunch and discovered a shop called Made in Bradford. It's an artsy craftsy place with loads of beautiful things for sale. The usual canvas bags, badges and brooches you buy but never wear but ooh they did look kitsch and fun at first!

Upstairs they have a community space. There is art work all round the walls from local artists and some exhibits by local photographers, there is also a wall of thoughts where in people write down their thoughts ( no shit Sherlock) and stick them up . One I liked was " My life has just begun ". It's all very arty and clean cut.

Then aside from all the modern stuff ( " stuff" ? !!! I see I am right up there with high brow vocab again ) and in direct juxtaposition is the public area. The picnic parlour. There is second hand furniture strewn around in and amongst old record players ( for those of you under 25, ask your Dad), plants and crockery. It's not quite as classy as full vintage but more natural and raw and charity shop like. The idea is that it's an area for the public to convene and share chats and food. I love, just love the ethos. It's all free and it's all about creating community

I definetely vote we have a blipnic there.

It gave me a warm glow ( unless that was the second hand heater I had sat on )

Lovely day full of other little nice things. It's all about people being nice and people being kind isn't it.

Oh and one last random thought . Was in Superdrug and they have started selling Babycham!! WTF? I often find that when I am buying tampons and waterproof plasters that I stop and think
" Hey. I'd love a Babycham "

(Oh god I said tampon. That's all the men muttering something about being busy and wandering off whistling and pretending not to listen.... )

Happy Tuesday folks xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.