What Captures My Interest

By Erikalv

Stop For A Moment

There's that old saying "stop and smell the coffee" and that's exactly what I'm doing. I'm taking inventory of what is and what was. You think your life is going one direction and all of a sudden it makes a complete u-turn. I know nothing is guaranteed in life so now I reflect and ask myself.....what is my life?

My life is a damn good one. I have an amazing family and its growing little by little. My relationship with my kids and siblings are closer than ever. I have a beautiful healthy grandbaby. She's becoming my best little buddy. I still have friends from junior high school that I'm close to and I've made new friends....really good ones.

I have a job and I enjoy waking up every morning going to it. My bosses and their family have taken me under their wing meaning they've become like family. I'm independent and I love knowing that I can take care of myself (that's my mama in me). It's important to me because I've seen women stay with a man for the wrong reasons and that terrifies me.

Above all, I have not and will not let my heart be harden. Sure its scary but I wouldn't be me if I turned my back on "love". They say its when you're not looking he will appear or maybe he's right in front of you but you don't see it yet. I'm excited about my future and what or who may come. Back out to the dating world.

Let's not forget to mention Blip and my new friends from all over the land. Your images, comments, words, stories or lack of have enriched my life. I am truly a better person because of you guys and I'm not just saying that for the hell of it. It's the truth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.