knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

Labcraft

I live in West Kilbride, which is also known as Craft Town Scotland. Recently a new gallery, The Barony, has been created in one of the old churches. The space inside is gorgeous and we were lucky enough in our local guild to use it recently for a workshop.
This week the first exhibition has opened - Labcraft.
I went around it this morning with my friend Jane, and we also had to try out the new cafe too.
The exhibition combines different types of makers who have used digital practices to create their pieces. There was a lot of really cool and interesting works, and I of course was really interested in the textiles.
This photo is from my favourite pieces at the exhibition and are by Philippa Brock.
The pieces are large and were hanging from a frame. The texture is created by folding the woven material in certain patterns. The way they caught the light was stunning and they have completely fuelled my inspiration juices.
If you're near West Kilbride then it's definitely worth a trip to see Labcraft as it's really inspiring to see how digital practices can work with traditional crafts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.