Old Guy

Today is my day off. It Thursday when Terri has classes and I don't and then she goes home to stay with her mom and dad. I Miss her terribly on those days, but it's also good to have some free time apart.

My much anticipated trip to the 'mountain' was screwed up when I got off the bus at the wrong stop and ended up at the Botanical Gardens. I was none too impressed. I'd been to the Botanical Gardens before and not been impresses at all. I did enjoy parts of the day though.

If you follow my journal, you know that I find the faces of older Chinese people particularly fascinating. I was on the subway home when this elderly gentleman got on. I motioned to ask if he minded if I took a picture. He did, so I didn't take a picture. He then came and sat beside me and started to chat. He is 85 years old.. I know that, because when I asked him, he grabbed my hand and satrted to show me how to count with your fingers in Chinese (much to the amusement of the other passengers) on the train.

After that we chatted about a few things and he told me he wanted me to buy him dinner. He was getting off the train at the same stop as me. I accepted his offer to buy him dinner and when we got off the train, he had all manner of problems trying to get through the 'out' gate. Eventually, he snuck through in a two for one deal when someone else went through the gate.

As we were headed to the exit of the subway station, he told me he didn't really want me to buy him dinner and I told him, I still wanted his picture. He gave in and when we got outside he posed for a lovely picture which is now my blip.

I asked for his phone number so I could give him a printed version of his [picture but he declined. He was a realllllllly cool old guy and we had a great time in the short time we hung out together. This is REALLY best veiwed in [url=large]large[/url] so see what an etched face he has.

I finished off the night with a few beers with Andy. All in al a GREAT day off. In the end...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.