Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Vote for me

Local elections today and I've carried out my democratic duty by voting. I'm not politically minded and not affiliated to any party, but I always make sure I vote even though where I live the result is always a certainty. People fought and lost their lives for us to vote, and compared to other countries who don't have an opportunity to vote for their leaders, we're quite lucky.

What annoys me about politics though is that the current incumbent feels they don't have to go out and campaign for votes; they take it for granted that they will get in. They couldn't even be bothered to write much of a manifesto, noble causes such as 'we want the best schools and healthcare for our valley' are what we all want, but what they're not telling me is how they are going to be achieved. The other candidate has tried hard and has at least been knocking on doors to win votes, which I admire.

I don't know what sort of turnout they are expecting but I predict it will be low; I don't think people are engaged fully with politics and how can you expect them to be when the candidates themselves can't even be bothered to engage with the electorate.

I have thought of actually standing to bring a common sense approach, to actually serving my community and not feathering my own nest. Would you vote for me?

Sorry for a bit of a rant today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.