The Linden Tree

I love the way Linden leaves unfold at this time of year. Walking past this tree this morning I was reminded of this beautiful song in the "Winterreise" written by Wilhelm Mueller and music by Franz Schubert:

At wellside, past the ramparts,
there stands a linden tree.
While sleeping in its shadow,
sweet dreams it sent to me.

And in its bark I chiseled
my messages of love:
My pleasures and my sorrows
were welcomed from above.

Today I had to pass it,
well in the depth of night -
and still, in all the darkness,
my eyes closed to its sight.

Its branches bent and rustled,
as if they called to me:
Come here, come here, companion,
your haven I shall be!

The icy winds were blowing,
straight in my face they ground.
The hat tore off my forehead.
I did not turn around.

Away I walked for hours
whence stands the linden tree,
and still I hear it whisp'ring:
You'll find your peace with me!

Wilhelm Müller
The Linden Tree

This is what it soundslike. As with most of the poems in the Winterreise we start off with a cheery thought only to end in misery. The traveller walks past the tree and is reminded of the summer hours spent in its shade only to walk away from it now in deep winter.

I'm glad the weather seems to finally change to summer. I hope to enjoy some sunshine tomorrow too.

One of my longest work days today, I'm looking forward to letting go a bit tomorrow. Yesterday and today combined were long, difficult at times and I'm glad they're over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.