Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Female blackbird with blooms

I guess I am starting off slowly with the British wildlife, starting at the house and working my way out. I was up early getting some more pigeon practice in, when I spotted a pair of blackbirds. The golden beaked male soon vanished as I began my approach but this lassie held her ground.

The air is filled with birdsong, mostly doves, pigeons, the chatter of sparrows and the warbling song of the blackbirds. For me this is a new experience after the deafening avian silence of the Indonesian dawn.

It took forever to inch my way forward, limiting movements until she was not looking. I managed to get within six feet before she felt threatened and departed. Close enough for a decent cropped image. I quite like this image with the blooms and as it is quite cold today, decided to call it my blip and do the woods tomorrow.

Thankyou all for yesterday's spotlight. I didn't really think it had a chance, but there you go.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.