Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Parenthood

A very chaotic day today!!
It started off calmly enough - once I'd dropped the Little Misses off at school I had a lovely, uninterrupted chat with Mrs S, followed by a laze on the sofa and a hot bubbly bath. Bliss!!!
Then the fun started....
When I went to pick up them up, the Little Misses decided they wanted to make pasta bracelets. We've only got fusilli which doesn't lend itself to bracelet making so I drove to the garage near school to see if they had any penne. They did not.
So it was all the way back to Tescos and a supposed quick pop in for the one thing we needed.
Miss L insisted on getting into a huge trolley, Miss E insisted on riding on the side. While I was perusing the delights of the reduced chiller cabinet they managed to topple over the trolley - obviously the pasta didn't do a very good job of weighing it down!! Tears, screaming, dozens of staff members and helpful fellow shoppers, offers of first aid and chairs, a very embarrassed Mummy just wanting everyone to go away knowing they'd be fine once everyone stopped making a fuss!! A couple of bags of chocolate buttons and all was well.
Apart from when I split Miss E's bag open and half the contents fell all over the floor. I exclaimed "Oh...."
And Miss E supplied the "S**t"
Oh dear!!!!
Then it was home for bracelet making - which was a triumph, we even ventured into necklace making too!!!
Then it was back out to the pool for Miss E's first solo swimming lesson. I didn't mention this last week - as it doesn't cover me with parenting glory - but I woke up last Saturday, sat bolt upright in bed and realised that I'd completely forgotten about swimming the day before!!! God I am useless!!
Anyway I was a bit worried about Miss E going in on her own and not knowing what to expect and I was even more worried to see how tiny she was compared to everyone - they were all at least five! She put on her rather fetching orange hat and just marched off round to the other side of the pool to sit with the other waiting children.
First of all they had to "run" as fast as they could across the pool and then bounce back backwards. The joy on her face and the confidence she showed reduced me to tears. Proper tears not just a vague welling up!!! I have never been more proud of her. I wanted to shout from the rooftops that she's my little girl and I can't believe how well she's doing.
Yes, I'm that Mum!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.