Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Meet Tuffy Junior!

I was having a pretty exciting back yard bird day, having seen my first ever Gray Catbird (right outside my office window) and Rose-breasted Grosbeak... when I looked up and saw this. At first, I was horrified, thinking "OMG, one of my titmice is SICK!!!" But, then, as I watched, I realized that what I was seeing was my first fledgling of the year - introducing Tuffy Junior! He came several times, each time with a parent, and cautiously took sunflower seeds back to a nearby branch where he attempted to open them. He was pretty skittish, so I didn't attempt any stealth like moves - I figure I'll have other opportunities to see him.

So, isn't THAT exciting??? I figured that the titmice were nesting but had no idea that they already had hatched and fledged at least one baby. They prefer to nest high in the trees, usually in old woodpecker holes, so I think it is hard to find their nests. And, I've been so occupied with the chickadees and wrens that I hadn't given much thought to the titmice.

Speaking of wrens, little Mr House-Wren was at it again this morning, hauling twigs that were at least 4 times his size, and Singing his little heart out in an attempt to convince the Mrs that this is the right spot for the nest.

The male Cardinal (His Royal Redness) is busy defending his territory - chasing blue jays and anything else that gets too close to the nest sight.

I want to thank everyone who made suggestions for yesterday's caption - I'm going to pick one tomorrow and post it with a link in tomorrow's blip. I am going to just have to draw because all the suggestions were great!

Happy Friday, blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.