Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Forgetful? Moi?

I wasn't happy with blip this morning. I had photo of blossom down in Princes Street Gardens that I wanted to use, but didn't yesterday, so today I had to go down to get the very same shot, so that the date was right!

And so I was out early, lured by that strange sight - blue skies! And it was warm (ish). However, when I got to the Gardens, they were so beautiful and peaceful and tidy and empty, with bright green grass and even brighter green new shoots on the trees, and best of all - long long shadows and... oh I could go on. I was SO pleased that I had made the effort! I had the whole place to myself. Almost. There was a man with a dog amongst the shadows and trees and he was almost my blip.

But no. I knew where I was going. A spot I'd taken a few shots yesterday, where the blossom was most dense and there was a nice line of benches. But in the end, I chose the castle view, as I've been waiting patiently all week for this one, with blue skies.

There was a young woman also taking a photo at the benches under the blossom spot. So I asked my usual, 'Are you a blipper?' but to my delight I didn't get a blank, slightly wary look in return. No, I got a 'Yes!'. We had a great chat. She was on her way to work. What a nice young lady - she let me take her photo as she walked past the blossom in her matching jacket!

I am embarrassed to say, but I forgot her blipper name. She did tell me TWICE. I thought I remembered part of it, and have spent a good part of my morning searching the Edinburgh blippers, to no avail. Maybe she'll notice this and comment.

This is not funny any more! Who knows what I'll forget next. My bus pass?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.