Up in the Air

Edinburgh is today what we call 'hotchin': that is, seething, with visitors speaking in weird tongues and festooned with lenses, staggering all over the Royal Mile and environs.

Fortunately for his Lordship and I on our Royal walk, these tourists know not the little havens of interest along the way, wherein doth lie many blips.
They seemed intent on getting down to Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament, both of which were shut leaving the sightseers to peer through the railings at the Palace courtyard, and marvel at the wooden stakes, so widely decried, which guard the windows of the parliament building.

This left us free to enjoy another fruit scone outside the Palace cafe in the sun before the uphill slog home against the tide of humanity.

Canongate Kirk a beautiful jewel of a church which saw a Royal wedding last year, was not one of those hidden gems, and we came on this scene in the courtyard.

The lady, with her hands full of blossom, was being photographed by a friend.
I had just turned away from blipping her myself and was walking to the gate when my editor in chief said " she's going to throw it" and I turned and quickly aimed my camera at her, catching this slightly out of focus shot which I have digitally processed to make it presentable.

I'm glad Edinburgh is wearing her smiley, welcoming face today for the English Bank Holiday visitors even though it is rather chilly. What they think of the chaos around the centre with t*** works and closed roads, I wouldn't like to know.

*** ram

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.