'Guernsey Gauché'

It's a miserable rainy day here in Guernsey, hopefully the weekend will get better. Today I have made a 'Guernsey Gauché' it's a traditional fruit bread, most people like it with 'Guernsey butter' I try to avoid that and have it dry, it's buttery anyway there is a fair amount of butter in it, I put 70 grams in with 450 grams of flour, and grated nutmeg, sultanas, grated peel etc. I cheat by making it in a bread-maker, but that's better than not having it. I always freeze what's left and we have it toasted, or you could make bread and butter pudding with it, but it's too nice for that really. For those Guernsey people reading this, there is probably none left to freeze so don't ask ha! ha! Have a great Bank Holiday weekend!
It looks too delicious on Large

I'm continuing my Everything Guernsey 10/11 week Challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.