Check Your Head...

Yesterday, MCA (aka Adam Yauch), one of the founding members of the Beastie Boys, died from a three year battle with cancer of the parotid salivary gland.

Many people have already said it but it sums up my thoughts exactly. Beastie Boys were the soundtrack of my youth. The released Check your Head just as I was getting knee deep in skateboarding and so they are always associated therein. Their first album, Licence to Ill, and identifiable by the track Fight for your Right (to Party) put them in the mainstream for not brilliant reasons but it was Check you Head, the alub cover I'm parodying here, that put them at the top of musical tree for me and they haven't come down much since. They were so musically innovative that even when they released an below par album, they were still way ahead of the competition.

Rest in Peace Sir...

Enjoy these...
So What Cha Want
3 MCs and 1 DJ
and one of the most memorable and brilliant music videos I know. Sabotage which always makes me play air drums.

----------------------------

Notes on the Picture...
This is a parody of the Check Your Head album cover which you can see here. Ewan is being MCA on the right there. They both did a fantastic job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.