Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Flying squirrel

About ten minutes walk up the hill is Storeton woods. I found it a few days ago while looking for new blipping grounds. It started life as a stone quarry by the romans up until about 100 years ago. In the 1930's the first Mersey tunnel was dug and the material from that was used to fill the quarry and a woods planted on top of that. So not an ancient mature woods, but plenty going on.

These days it is basically a doggy toilet, despite all the signs and bins positioned around the park. Some people just do not appreciate what they have and seem to think that the woods was provided purely for their dogs and nobody else.

I have done three dry runs to the woods before today and was quite confident that I would come away with at least one decent blip, but it just didn't happen. The sky was heavily overcast and the insects were just not playing. I won't try again unless the sun comes out.

This squirrel was about thirty feet up a tree and was as close as I was allowed to get. I tried a few woodpecker shots, but again, way too far away. Apart from a few flies, absolutely no insects. A few flowers were available, bluebells, forget-me-nots, dandelions and a few others that I couldn't name, but I was out for an insect blip and refused the blooms. All in all, a disappointing safari.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.