Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Has anyone seen my mojo?

I have had one of those days - lots of great things I could have blipped ... if only I'd had the camera ready. Or if only I'd been ready. Or if only the bird had stayed a second longer... Blah, blah, blah. I finally just went out and took a quick shot of a dandelion and fiddled a bit with it in picasa and ... well, you can see the rest.

Highlights of today - saw my first Ruby-throated hummingbird of the season!!! It seems that he may just have been passing through because I only saw him once, but he officially starts the hummer season for me. I had to message LBorla to let her know because she, like me, is sad when they leave in the fall eagerly awaits their return in the spring. If they are in Jersey, they can't be far from MI.

I saw a pair of Eastern Bluebirds checking out one of the wren boxes (which aren't big enough for bluebirds). The mail sang his song from atop the box while the Mrs tried to stick her head in the have a look. I think that she was pretty disappointed and I am not sure, but I think I heard her muttering that they really should have signed the lease on the box that the chickadees now have when they had the chance last month... So, next year, guess who will be getting a second bluebird box? Yep, one for the chickadees and one for the bluebirds. Actually, it seemed a bit late for the bluebirds to be trying to find a nest sight this season so maybe they are new at this.

The lowlight of my day is that I have a nasty sore throat and a thick feeling in my chest - hoping it is just allergies and not a damned cold! I hate colds - hate 'em. Warning - I may get whiny and horrid if I get a cold...

Okay, so my favorite captions for May 3 entry are "Oh, Sh**" from Baron, "new pole vault entrant for the Bird Olympics" from RoyMcDine, "That's the last time I trust that bloody metric conversion app!" from PaulFS and "Houston, we have a problem" from Jensphotos. What is your final pick?

Happy Saturday, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.