Caen Hill Locks

I took advantage yesterday of the temporary lull in the apocalyptic rains to walk up the flight of locks at Caen Hill,  Devizes, having heard there were cygnets there. Parking in Marsh Lane I walked up to the top using a freshly mown stretch of land that lay behind the large side ponds that are a feature of this flight. Near the bottom I found a nesting swan, and another pair in one of the side ponds higher up, but it wasn't until I reached the pond below Caen Hill Café that I found the proud parents with six fluffy cygnets.

L.
6.5.2012

Blip #704
Consecutive Blip #019
Day #773

Alternatives:
A Side Pond On Caen Hill
Swan Family Outing
Swan Pair
Nesting Swan #2

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm

Caen Hill locks series

Caen Hill Locks, 5 May 2012 (Flickr set)

Works in progress:
Marwell Wildlife, 11 April 2012 (Flickr set)

One year ago: Emergency Blip #2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.