Moon For Molly

On the last day that she blipped Molly left one of her very generous comments on my journal.  She thought I was funny because as a child I had been afraid of the severe portraits of my great grandparents.  Molly put their severity down to having to sit still for the photo, rather than any sternness of character.  Then she went on to relate one of her delightful anecdotes, which I will share with you.

"We had only one photograph hanging on our wall. I was told that it was my Aunt Pearl, that she had red hair just as I did and that she died at age 18. I realize now that the reason only her picture hung on the wall was that it was taken because everybody knew she was not going to live very long. I, of course, assumed that I was doomed to die at 18 as well, but it didn't worry me because that was so far, far ahead."


It's lovely to take the time to remember Molly's warmth, wit and generosity.  It is no wonder at all that so many people in so many places want to mark this special day.

I was especially pleased to get a moon shot on the day we are commemorating Molly because she obviously liked them.  The birds were a surprise to me because they entered the frame during the 2 sec. delay on the wireless remote.  They are flying unusually high because it's the duck shooting season here.

I don't usually get moonrise shots as I did last night so I found it interesting to compare the two images.  The moon does quite a spin overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.