Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

For Molly - Golden light of dawn

Early morning light on a rapeseed field in Sint Annen, Groningen, The Netherlands.

Knowing that Molly really loved flowers, I thought it would make sense to make a landscape photo in the middle of a rapeseed field. There I was, waiting for the light as David Noton would say, with enough time to think back to one year ago.

How we just agreed to rent one of Molly's houses in Tuscany for our summer vacation. That ball started rolling when Molly commented on this blip of Inge on the swing, saying how she would have to buy some kids to be able to take pictures like that. I replied: hey, we could come over to your place. And then it turned out the Mulinetto was still available.

How I received the news of Molly's death when returning from capturing this sunset. We waited a couple of weeks before contacting Molly's husband Mark (or 'Himself' as Molly would refer to him). I'm so glad Mark was OK with us coming to Tuscany. I'm very pleased to have met him, and Luigi of course. We still exchange emails every now and then and I'm always amazed at the energy Mark has to take on new challenges. Without a doubt we will all be hearing from him soon.

How we visited Molly's grave, which was very close to the Mulinetto where we were staying.

It's weird how we never met, but there's still a connection through a common interest in photography. I would like to think she arranged for some devine intervention so that the clouds finally started moving and the sun had a chance to shine its golden light of dawn over the field, allowing me to capture this. Thank you, Molly...

Best viewed somewhat bigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.