Buon appetito!

In memory of Molly who loved her olives. After all she and Himself were in the business of oil production. I can never forget (although I cannot now find) the mistress-class she gave about choosing olive oil, since when I have suspiciously perused the labels of the supermarkets brands I buy, although not able to afford the really good stuff she recommended (Moll'ive oil is how I think of that.)

So my tribute to Molly involves olive oil, olives and some other ingredients of the rustic Italian menus she often described. Only the eggs and the bay leaves are homegrown. The raspberry vinegar comes from a local market and the other items originated further afield.

The books, Elizabeth David's Mediterranean Cookery, and Honey from a Weed by Patience Gray, are both written with the same flair, individuality and deep love of the terroir that Molly displayed in her inimitable blips.

In case people have missed it, another blipper took this picture of Molly's final resting place near her beloved Tuscan home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.