Bob's Photo of the Day

By WetCoastBob

Computer vs Computer

Having a bit of fun tonight. I am letting my computer play itself in chess.

2 moves prior to this I saw white make (in my opinion) make a huge blunder(sacrificed its last Knight which was one move from cornering the black king for a set-up for a check-mate). Looks like I am right as things, 15 minutes later, do not look good for white.

The interesting thing, as I observe this, is that the computer agonizes for minutes over obvious decisions such as "the only option is to move the king!"

20 minutes after this screen shot: White is still trying to save itself but is being backed into a corner and I fear the rest. Oh jeez! It just exchanged a pawn for a Bishop!! No high ground gained here. Then White moves its Queen to g4 to intimidate a Bishop with a Black Pawn at f2 and nothing covering f1!!! EEK!!

Sure 'nuff Black picks up a Knight at f1. Now the White King is "Checked"!! King to h1. Black night to G3(Check) This is interesting as the white queen is in g4 with a black bishop in h4. Quandary, quandary. White King-g2, Black Queen-d2 Unless the White queen commits suicide the King has to move. The only options are f3 or g1.

OMG!! Queen sacrifices and in a few quick moves the White King is toast!!

Fun was had by all!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.