Building

A new parking garage as I understand it, in the almost filled out University Village Shopping Center which 20 some years ago was just your average little string of a mall with one larger home improvement center. Now it is one of the larger drawing cards in the Seattle area. I ride my bike there so don't need all these parking buildings, but that is me.

Anyway I think about building a lot as the process of adding the supports and the girders, and then all the rebar and then and then and then. The addition of these parts that eventually are quite hidden from view fascinates me. I was in the "village" as people call it for a "one on one" session, my ongoing never to be finished apple education school. There too, building, the systems that are mostly out of sight to make magical things happen with the passing of two fingers, or three, and the direction of the swipe - and so on.

My studio work, also building marks, taking them away, building them again. Clearly there is a deep need in humans to build, and destroy too, so as to re-build. That is what I was thinking about when I took this photo today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.