La Piaeche d'la Liberatiaon

Today it's Liberation day, the 67th Anniversary of the day that we were Liberated from the occupying forces, at the end of the 2nd World war. This morning we heard the Sirens at 9am and then the all clear shortly after, a reminder that we were free!
We went into town and I took 190 photos, all I can show you is one and so it is the Liberation Monument that was built for the 50th Anniversary. The Guernsey Liberation Monument is precisely placed, using electronic age technology, to mark the path of the Sun on the 9th May 1995. The tip of the shadow of the 5-metre high obelisk falls on a curve of stone seating throughout the day, and provides a link between 1945, 1995, and each Liberation Day in the future. I want to pass on some of the feel of the day which I found emotional, thinking of what my parents and Grandparents went through, my Mum as a 5 year old child was evacuated to Scotland and she never saw her Dad again, and didn't see her Mum until after the war. Today was a celebration! Later this evening I will place some extra pictures on my blipfolio for you so you can glimps how it went today ;o) click on here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.