Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Joe

Not just any Joe, but the Joe as in the CEO of this fine web site.

When I found out that Joe was giving a talk at a technical meeting this evening, I stayed in town after work today to attend. I filled the invervening time taking street pictures and generally acting like another lost tourist. One diversion took me to the Museum of Scotland where I noticed the absence of parked cars and (more crucially) a bright red carpet in front of the main door. I asked an organiser-looking person who was the VIP, and he said it was the future heir to the throne and that he was due at 6:30pm. I wasn't entirely sure if he was pulling my leg but I hanged around until that time, then when nothing happened bailed out to attend my technical meeting.

I was expecting Joe to give the usual techie three-tier Enterprise application talk with some UI at the top, a database at the bottom, and an application server in the middle running some trendy language like Haskell or Ruby. Hence, I was pleasantly surprised that it was more about how a good idea does not make a good business without a lot of hard work. I had a good chat with him and I agreed with his approach to emphasize the business angle, rather than the underlying technology.

I also grabbed him for this natural window light portrait before the day faded into dusk.

Oh, and the Duke of Rothesay really was visiting the Museum for his supper...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.