Connections

This is a metaphor. You can tell it's a metaphor because I've said that it is. It's also green although I'm not confident that colour is a good indicator that something is a metaphor - although grass may, in some contexts, be a metaphor. Okay I think I'm convinced that metaphors need not be green. In fact the most famous metaphors are probably linguistic and thus colourless. I'm thinking about Shakespeare's assertion that "All the world's a stage". The world isn't literally a stage but Bill is making this comparison between the world and the stage and the parts people play as a way of filling whilst Orlando leaves the stage and gets changed; no sooner has Jaques finished the monologue but Orlando is back in fresh doublet or cod-piece or whatever else the wardrobe mistress has decided is the way it should work. Thus this colourless metaphor is a way of wasting a bit of time but my blip isn't that at all - and it's green.

My metaphor is for a day where things seemed to be unplugged. Stuff took longer than necessary or simply didn't happen at all. Green wasn't the predominant colour but I think we've dealt with the relationship between colour and metaphor.

Thankfully this one can be filed under "Not happening again" and we can power on through to a Friday. Keep the faith hombres!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.