Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Drifting...

That's what this red-tailed hawk was doing - just drifting along. I just happened to glance up and there he was. I had Big Daddy in hand, so raised him and fired off two quick shots. Horribly washed out shots because I'd been shooting into the woods and the settings were wrong for shooting up at the sky. But a little adjustment of exposure and a conversion to black/white and now I'm happy with it. I think it actually looks a little artsy-fartsy with the overexposed background...haha.

Feeling much better today, and expect to be my normal self by the weekend - just in the nick of time, right?

I saw the chickadees removing little bits of white stuff from their nest - I read somewhere that they remove the egg shells once the chicks have hatched so as not to attract predators, so I am sure that I is what I was seeing. Papa has been carrying treats to the nest for Mom for at last several days now. And as much as I'd love to open the side of the box and have a look, I shall restrain myself. I would be horrified if little naked chicks jumped out. So, I'll wait for them to fledge... Stay tuned.

I had another sighting of the Pine-breasted Grosbeak today - very exciting! I was able to get 2 shots, both from a LONG distance and not great shots, but enough to postiviely identify him. As summer progresses, hopefully I'll get some better shots. More hummer sightings today, too, although this year's hummers are quite shy. Lots of time to remedy that!

My two other contenders today, if you'd like to have a look, are:

The irrepressible Carolina Wren, and

the shy Gray Catbird

And tomorrow is Friday - yay!!!

BTW, if you haven't checked out the Cornell Heron-Cam - have a look. The baby herons hatched a week or so ago, and they are the so gawky looking! Rambunctious little things, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.