You can tell it was wet today

As I've returned to the type box for the first time in ages. Another six little compartments, each with an object and a story. In this half-dozen we start top left with red circular badge depicting the ardent revolutionary marxist and first leader of the Soviet Union, Lenin. The badge was brought back from St Petersburg by M when she was there in the summer of 1993. Next to Lenin, who ordered the execution of the Romanov royal family in 1918 to prevent them falling into the hands of the 'White' counter-revolutionary forces during the turmoil of the Russian Civil War, is a crown issued to celebrate the Queen's Golden Jubilee in 2002. And top right is a fragment of Australian coral brought back by my uncle from one of his many trips down under. Below the coral is the promotional badge that was made for the team involved in the 48 Hour Film Project short film 'Starfish' that I was involved with in 2009 as Stills Photographer. It's still out there on YouTube - the group was called "Water of Leith" and as well as documenting the process, some of my stills were also used in the credit sequence. Next along is another badge, this one commemorating 50 years of Marie Curie - think that would make it 2002 from what I can see. Definitely bought it the day of a massive parade of pipers on Princes Street in Edinburgh. And the last object, bottom left, is a piece of volcanic pumice I brought back from a trip I and my father took to Iceland in the summer of 1982. Somewhere he'd always wanted to go but my mother said she wouldn't fly so I went with him instead in one of my summer vacations from Uni in Durham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.