Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

When is a lane not a lane?

With my energy back a bit, I had planned to bike out a ways to pick up a new bike stem I had been notified had arrived at a not-so-local bike shop. It was my first time biking out towards Brookfield/Menomonee Falls, which are NW of Milwaukee, and significantly more suburban.

The ride was delightful, though I found myself dumbstruck when I'd hit stretches of road which were 1 lane in each direction, and barely a painted line on the right hand side if you were lucky. Evidently this particular stretch of lane was especially proud of itself, a sign declares the right lane for bikes and pedestrians only. This picture was taken across a small intersection, but just past the sign you can see just how wide this right "lane" is. It's barely a shoulder!

Fortunately everyone (myself included) behaved on the road that day, and everyone got where they were going with no incident, but the silliness of calling the right shoulder a "lane" really made me laugh.

Aside from the pic, the shop had not actually received the stem they thought they did. That was okay though, I killed an hour window shopping and headed a bit further on to my dad's house. Ends up he too was wife-less this day, and invited me to stop by. We had a lovely morning/afternoon visiting and he gave me a ride home, which was good because my voice was starting to fade (even though my energy was adequate) and the reduced strain was probably good for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.