Holly Blue Butterfly

Not Many People Know That (Number 14)

This summer I am keeping a photographic record of the butterflies that visit my garden. Here's one I haven't seen before.

The Holly Blue has two broods in the year, but Not Many People Know That it is unique amongst British butterflies because the caterpillars of the spring brood eat the flower buds of Holly whereas the autumn brood eat the flower buds of Ivy.

It is an astonishingly beautiful butterfly, as the wings are irridescent pale blue.

Last night I was lucky enough to be invited by Sugar Daddy to the Diamond Jubilee Pageant at Windsor which is being run in conjunction with the Royal Windsor Horse Show. What a spectacular evening.

Our own Household Cavalry, Life Guards and the Kings' Troop Royal Horse Artillery put on a splendid show as well as equestrian display teams from around the world, combined with music and dancing from each continent. Countries represented included Canada, USA, Mexico, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Azerbaijan, Oman, South and East Africa and Italy, but for me there is nothing to compare with the speed and acrobatic display of the Cossacks.

It was an occasion for posh frocks and Wellington Boots - a rather fetching look made necessary by the horrendous mud in the car parks and all the walkways.

Sugar Daddy loves rubbing shoulders with the rich and famous, as for me, I like the food and drink!!

Oh, and I've Got Friday on My Mind! There seem to be a few tuning issues here, that Simon Cowell would dis, but I'm loving the tight trousers!!

Have a good one.


Other blips in the Not Many People Know That series are tagged notmany,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.