The Grounds

'We're running a bit late today. Why don't you go and get a bite to eat, or maybe take a walk around the grounds.' That's what one of the girls said to me today when I arrived for treatment. I'd been warned at the very beginning that Fridays could be subject to delays, so this didn't phase me. As to passing the time, a walk around the grounds sounded like the better option (and still would even if I hadn't already visited the hospital café, having arrived ridiculously early).

The weather was perfect for a wander around the grounds, looking really well at this time of year. The Bluebell Garden is beginning to show promise, though it still has a bit of bedding in to do before it's any way spectacular. It's the grounds in general which are so impressive. I've blipped this area before, but I still take a great shine to it and thought it worth another try.

So, another week ends. Only two more treatment sessions to go. I'll see the doctor on Tuesday after my final session and learn where we go from here (though I already know that I won't know how effective the treatment has been for another two and a half years). Still, I always enjoy my chats with my oncologist, and Tuesday's meeting will have an air of celebration and finality about it.

Nothing much to report afterwards until evening time. I'm delighted that I had a ticket for tonight's concert in the National Concert Hall. What a shame that more people didn't think similarly: the hall was maybe quarter full, but we who were there had a real treat. Colin Currie was soloist in Rautavaara's Percussion Concerto (written in 2008 and being given its Irish première) and the other work after the interval was Shostakovich's 8th Symphony. My hero Hannu Lintu was conducting and did us proud. The orchestra outdid themselves, and Colin Currie's performance was sensational. A great night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.