Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Hovering Hoverfly

Great weather today and so I headed for the woods in the hope of a butterfly shot. There were several orange tips and their all white females, but they didn't seem too interested about sucking on nectar so I missed out.

Plenty of other insects around though, of which I liked this hovering hoverfly the best.

Today's difference discussion is road rage. I am ashamed to say that I'm guilty of road rage. I am a patient man but do not suffer fools lightly. Hardly a week would go by without me losing it or receiving the wrath of another road user after dishing out a selfish act of reprisal to an idiot.

Despite the chaotic character of the Indonesian road users, there is virtually zero road rage. It took a while, but I eventually had to quit on the rage too, as it was seriously stressing me out. Even as simple trip to the minimarket of less than a mile would have me screaming as there would be two or three instances of stupidity or selfishness.

UK road rage is appalling and really needs something done about it. The authorities have clamped down on hand phone usage and rightly so, now they need to punish the rage.

Strangely enough, in total contrast to the rage, UK drivers are largely very courteous, leaving gaps for right turns in heavy traffic, flashing overtaking artics on the motorway when they are clear to pull in, stopping for pedestrians on zebra crossings and the list goes on.

Indonesian road users, in total contrast to the lack of road rage, do not give an inch. They push and shove and fight you for every inch of road. They cut in, slow down to turn without indicating, cars just pull out on you and have no respect for bikes.

So which is better - rage and courtesy or calm chaos?

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.