The way I see it.

By christinePears

Blipmeet at Loch Ruthven

Today I got to Meet Mr and Mrs Lonshanks at the RSPB bird hide at Loch Ruthven. Meeting up with a blipper that you have traded comments with for a year was a wonderful experience and there was that strange feeling of bumping into someone that you knew quite well! The reason for the bird hide blipmeet was to watch the Slavonian Grebes that are found here and we were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived there was a couple in the water just in front of the hide and they were around at varying distances throughout our visit. Apparently there are only about 40 breeding pairs in the whole of the UK so I guess we were pretty lucky to see them.

It was an action packed day for me with a house viewing to start the day and then time with my grandchildren after our visit with the Longshanks. We lingered in the area around Loch Ruthven, visiting the Farr community building in the school wood and then the playpark. It is a beautiful part of the country and well worth a visit.

Slavonian Grebe can be seen here in my blipfolio (click on back button to go straight to it)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.