Views of my world

By rosamund

Complete

I awoke early to work on my felt piece. I did the wet felting last night and had left it to dry on the radiator over night and was keen to get started.

First was the needle felting to tidy up the edges and add some more detail.

Next was my favourite stage, the machine embroidery. This was only the second time I had done it and I had to pop out to buy machine embroidery threads, they worked much better than the ones I used last time and the machine kept it's tension well. I really enjoy drawing with it, and wish I'd taken a photo of the back as the line drawing effect you get on the neutral background is really quite attractive.

I framed the finished piece after a spot of hand stitching and now I've got mixed feelings. Overall I like it but I worry about the scale and dimensions of the lighthouse which seems a bit off. It is supposed to be the main feature and it's not supposed to look perfect so I guess I need to stop worrying about it.

I'm really enjoying combining all these techniques and may start another one very soon.

Apart from crafts the day was quiet. The children went off with their dad, I had a short visit by the wool shop and the rest of the day was spent with Carlos. He's now caught my cold so we just shared the medications, drank tea and kept warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.