Elves and fairies

I've seen a lot of strange things in this wood.
I seen a plague of frogs. Of bees. Of bats. I seen a rainbow hit the earth and set fire to the ground. I seen the air go still and all sound stop and a golden stag clear this clearing. Fourteen-point antlers of solid gold. I heard an oak tree cry. I've heard beech sing hymns. I seen a man they buried in the churchyard Friday sitting under a beech eating an apple on Saturday morning. When the light goes, and I stare out into the trees, there's always pairs of eyes out there in the dark, watching. Foxes. Badgers. Ghosts. I seen lots of ghosts.
I seen women burn love letters. Men dig holes in the dead of night. I seen a young girl walk down here in the cold dawn, take all her clothes off, wrap her arms round a broad beech tree and give birth to a baby boy. I seen first kisses. Last kisses. I seen all the world pass by and go. Laughing. Crying. Talking to themselves. Kicking the bracken.
Elves and fairies, you say. Elves and fairies.


(Rooster Byron, in the play Jerusalem by Jez Butterworth, 2009)

No elves or fairies for me today but there were bluebells, there were St George's mushrooms, there was a cuckoo and there was sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.