... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Cootling feeding

Another tricky choice: the sun was out, and the pond and birds were being most photogenic.
Again, this was not my favourite photo of the day, but I've already blipped cootlings in isolation, so I wanted to blip a (different sort of) photo with a parent to show the scale of the tiny young birds... Some of the photos (with which I was more taken) had much more interesting water effects: pleasing ripples, and one in which the ripples looked like interference patterns with concentric circles of light and dark... I do like the way that the different aspects of the ripples are either green or blue in this one though.

Coots feed their young beak-to-beak: the parents scout around for food, and chirrup to attract the waiting/pestering chicks over when they find something. It seems so very tender.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.