This life thing...

By mrpin

Self portrait

I visited a few colleagues in the science department today. It's just around the corner from where the art rooms lie - but is like another planet. We are clearly different species - what seems like witchcraft and sorcery to me is pretty straight forwards to them.

In an effort to move things on I wanted to have the option of changing the angle of the Boxes exposures. When using the Box the angle is around 120-30 degrees. In practical terms this is great for capturing a room, but when when taking a portrait the camera has to be shoved right in front of your victims face.

Later, armed with a tin can, knife and hope I fashioned a lens like looking cylinder to narrow the light rays hitting the paper. It worked! (To a certain extent) Not quite what I wanted, but if you magnify the screen enough and I tell you there IS someones (my) face in the middle you can just about figure it out (maybe?).

More work to be done but I quite like the effect of the light bouncing around the metal on its way to the paper. It looks like it's having a lot of fun. How it all works though - I have no idea - off to see the wizards in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.