Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep

I expect it was too much to hope for another sunny day. There have been dull skies and drizzle all day. It all adds up to fill a reservoir, so I shouldn't complain.

The wet hasn't dampened the birds enthusiasm today. The Sparrows are nesting under the eves of the house and farmyard buildings. We are lucky and with constant feeding, at least here, their numbers are steadily increasing. A pile of recently cut willow, has become a favourite place for the birds to congregate.
I should really have taken this in the morning, when the Sparrows wait in expectation for the farm birds to be let out, and fed. That's the time for the maximum numbers of birds perched on the branches.

I've left my feeders under stocked for the past couple of weeks to try and entice the hawks to find somewhere else to find food whilst eggs are hatching . The young nestling, who should soon start making their first exits from safety, will have a hard time avoiding the farm cats and it seems unfair at the moment to attract another hungry predator.

The good news is that I've seen movement in and out of the Blue tit's box. I was beginning to worry that it could be abandoned. Fingers crossed.

I foresee a busy day tomorrow and a few days of erratic blipping to follow.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.