Latitude Living

By QueSeraSara

Not Enough Shelves

Yes, we have Kindles and an iPad. And we have a wonderful local library. But, we're still running out of shelf space for our books. My partner Kathy and I both love to read - "real" books, with printed pages and bindings. They are treasures to us. We have them shelved and stacked throughout our house, but we're running out of space. It's a dilemma. Last week, Kathy's mother gave us an old bookshelf that used to be in her brother's bedroom. It needs refinishing, but once the staining and varnishing is complete, it will quickly be filled with books already waiting in the wings. I know the obvious answer to our lack of shelf space is to stop buying books, but to do so would be like telling us to stop bringing home groceries. Having books available is like having food in our pantry; we know nourishment is within reach. Maybe eventually we'll need to be satisfied with the drop-down menus of e-books. Until then, I'm moving aside some canned goods, making room for a few more books.

"I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves". ~ Anna Quindlen, "Enough Bookshelves," New York Times

"When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes." ~ Erasmus

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.