a town called E.

By Eej

Treasure Junk


I didn't used to collect Delfts Blauw/Blue. In fact, I always disliked it. But then I was going to move 5000 miles, and all of a sudden the Delfts Blue started to mean something. So I got a cow-that-is-a-milk-jug. Then my sister gave me an ashtray. Another sister gave me the hyacinth holder and the crocus pot. All reminders of home. Treasures.
And then after I moved my friend P. and her mom started to find all kinds of Delfts and semi-Delfts Blue at Goodwill sales. And buying it for me.
Some things are so ugly I just rolled my eyes when she gave them to me - which made her laugh hysterically. And get me more stuff. The little clogs she thought might fit Laurence Blipton (they don't). The big jug that one point probably held some strong liquor, but came to me empty.
It really is junk. If I'd still be living in the Netherlands, I would probably still consider it junk.
As it is, I consider all of it a treasure. And if we'd have a fire, it would be on the list of things to save.
After the Beloved.
The cats.
The photo albums.
The camera + lenses.
My teddybears.


But still :)



(for ADay.org - category: home)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.