A time for everything

By turnx3

Art in thePark

Tuesday
This isn't what I was expecting to blip when I went walking at Glenwood Gardens late this morning, but I found it such a surprising sight I decided it would have to be my blip for the day. Apparently it is part of an event called Art for All, presented by the Taft Museum of Cincinnati to celebrate its 80th anniversary. They are putting framed reproductions of 80 works from its collection on the streets and outdoor spaces of the Cincinnati metro area. The copied works are treated with an automotive clear coat to protect them from the elements. This open-air gallery is a gift from the Taft to remind the public of Charles and Anna Taft's donation of their home and art collection 80 years ago. The event doesn't officially open until June 1st, and the website doesn't yet have the map up showing the other locations, so I guess I will have to wait a while, unless I happen to stumble across some more. The painting is "An extensive valley with a distant city" by the Dutch artist Aert van der Neer (1603/4-1677). It was a beautiful day for a walk in the park - sunny and pleasantly warm. Judging from how much our grass at home has grown in the last week, they must have had quite a bit of rain in our absence, and everything is still really lush and green, accented with the colors of wildflowers and flowering shrubs, and the birds were in full song. On my way home I had to stop for groceries, then after a late lunch I set about cutting the grass, which took quite a while since it was so long. I didn't get it all done before it was time to stop and clean up before preparing dinner, but I did most of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.