Sun in the garden

We have not seen the sun in this part of Argyll since Saturday.   It was lovely this afternoon though  and when I noticed these shadows in the garden I was reminded of the final  words  of Robert Nichol's poem "Dawn on the Somme" - those about the  "Invincible Sun" -  as set by Arthur Bliss in his "Morning Heroes", a piece of music that means a great deal to me.    

The last two movements of Morning Heroes, a work for orchestra, chorus and narrator that arose out of Bliss' own experiences in the First World War,  can be found here .   If you don't know it  or even  if you do, it is worth a few moments of your time particularly at the end of the year  which marks the centenary of  the start of that awful struggle. 

I am also, as you can see, more and more drawn to the abstract in photography, something I noticed when putting together the annual calendar we send to friends each Christmas.   Must be my age....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.